Skip to content
Telford and Wrekin Counts — Telford and Wrekin, in numbers.Local help →

Telford and Wrekin, in numbers

People and living standards

Telford and Wrekin council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Telford and Wrekin council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 141,294 in 1991 to 199,378 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Telford and Wrekin council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 146,253 people in 1996; 199,378 people in 2025. 36.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Telford and Wrekin council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991141,294
1992142,245
1993143,247
1994144,437
1995146,143
1996146,253
1997149,670
1998152,900
1999153,730
2000155,846
2001158,573
2002159,401
2003159,848
2004160,603
2005161,535
2006162,710
2007163,368
2008164,089
2009164,889
2010165,641
2011166,831
2012167,964
2013169,014
2014170,610
2015172,898
2016175,352
2017177,528
2018179,548
2019182,081
2020183,483
2021185,857
2022188,960
2023192,358
2024196,090
2025199,378
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Telford and Wrekin council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,370 people in 1996; 38,997 people in 2025. 16.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Telford and Wrekin council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199132,560
199232,674
199332,919
199433,286
199533,565
199633,370
199734,030
199834,499
199934,775
200035,019
200135,305
200235,187
200334,870
200434,823
200534,522
200634,322
200734,120
200833,985
200934,122
201033,987
201134,252
201234,438
201334,364
201434,465
201534,822
201635,052
201735,585
201836,116
201936,486
202036,740
202136,870
202237,548
202338,164
202438,739
202538,997
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Telford and Wrekin council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 94,830 people in 1996; 124,456 people in 2025. 31.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Telford and Wrekin council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199191,570
199292,230
199392,828
199493,478
199594,669
199694,830
199797,312
199899,810
1999100,082
2000101,588
2001103,549
2002104,175
2003104,546
2004104,992
2005105,902
2006106,928
2007107,404
2008107,609
2009107,652
2010107,920
2011108,236
2012108,017
2013108,152
2014108,719
2015109,779
2016111,125
2017111,869
2018112,686
2019113,956
2020114,449
2021116,014
2022117,861
2023120,109
2024122,287
2025124,456
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Telford and Wrekin council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,053 people in 1996; 35,925 people in 2025. 99% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Telford and Wrekin council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,164
199217,341
199317,500
199417,673
199517,909
199618,053
199718,328
199818,591
199918,873
200019,239
200119,719
200220,039
200320,432
200420,788
200521,111
200621,460
200721,844
200822,495
200923,115
201023,734
201124,343
201225,509
201326,498
201427,426
201528,297
201629,175
201730,074
201830,746
201931,639
202032,294
202132,973
202233,551
202334,085
202435,064
202535,925
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 185,543 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Telford and Wrekin · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh10,0675.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5,3512.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,8442.6%
White163,63888.2%
Other ethnic group1,6430.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 166,641 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Telford and Wrekin · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White154,41592.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,9831.8%
Asian/Asian British6,9914.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,7791.1%
Other ethnic group4730.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 158,325 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Telford and Wrekin · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White150,01494.8%
Mixed1,7281.1%
Asian/Asian British4,5862.9%
Black/Black British9280.6%
Chinese/Other1,0690.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 17.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Telford and Wrekin council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,262 per person in 1997; £21,346 per person in 2024. 108% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Telford and Wrekin council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,262
199810,324
199910,524
200010,358
200110,331
200210,761
200311,323
200411,832
200511,800
200612,324
200712,846
200813,067
200913,343
201013,658
201114,044
201214,446
201314,700
201415,118
201515,788
201616,054
201716,050
201816,388
201916,948
202017,198
202117,928
202218,835
202320,176
202421,346
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Telford and Wrekin council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -3.3% in 1997; -17.8% in 2024. 14.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Telford and Wrekin council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-3.3
1998-4.6
1999-7
2000-13
2001-16.5
2002-14.9
2003-13.1
2004-12.8
2005-16.1
2006-15.8
2007-16.3
2008-17
2009-16.7
2010-15.4
2011-13.8
2012-14.5
2013-16.1
2014-16.4
2015-17
2016-16.6
2017-18.5
2018-19.7
2019-19.6
2020-18.1
2021-17.9
2022-18
2023-17.5
2024-17.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.5%

21 March 2021 · Telford and Wrekin council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

20.1%

21 March 2021 · Telford and Wrekin council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20%

21 March 2021 · Telford and Wrekin council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.1%

21 March 2021 · Telford and Wrekin council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£227,000

July 2026 · Telford and Wrekin council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£861

August 2026 · Telford and Wrekin council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.